More Old Greek New Testaments

photo 2

My 1707 John Mill

We’ve already looked at old Bibles and some old Greek New Testaments.

Today we look at more–and more valuable–Greek New Testaments. We begin with my very own copy of John Mill’s 1707 edition.

I found this copy online listed at about 10% of its actual value, bought it immediately, and then asked for my wife’s forgiveness.

 

photo 5

1707 Mill opened to Acts.

It’s a stunningly beautiful volume. And enormous.

This folio measures nearly 16 inches from top to bottom, and weighs approximately 15 pounds. Visit CSNTM for a narrative of its significance and photos of every page of the copy owned by Cambridge University (for the record, mine appears to be in better condition).

It seems the first printed Greek New Testament was accomplished in Spain in 1514 as part of a multi-language Bible. The more famous Greek text of Erasmus was first published in 1516. But the first Greek New Testament published on U.S. soil was an edition of John Mill.

 

photo 1

First Greek NT printed in U.S.

I have a copy of it, too (image to the left). This first American edition was published in Massachusetts in April, 1800. [Click on any image to enlarge.]

Finally, as I conclude this entry on Greek New Testaments let me provide my wish list. About once each month I spend an hour or so shopping online for these items. Many of them are currently available on the market, but out of my price range.

These would make excellent gifts for a pastor near you:

 

  1. Tischendorf’s Novum Testamentum 1869-1872, eighth edition editio critica maior (either in 2 or 3 volumes). I have sets already, but you can’t have too many Tischendorfs.
  2. Wettstein’s (Wetstenii/Wetstein) Novum Testamentum, 2 volumes published in 1751-52.
  3. Robertus Stephanus’ (Estienne/Stephani) Novum Testamentum published in 1546, 1549, 1550, or 1551. I’ll take any of them.

    photo 4

    1631 Latin Bible

  4. Desiderius Erasmus Roterodamus’ Novum Instrumentum published by Froben in 1516.
  5. Virtually any Greek NT printed more than 200 years ago at the right price.

I’m not opposed to purchasing Bibles written in languages other than English and Greek. I have acquired a couple in Latin, including this one published in 1631 (to the right). But I am especially interested in old Greek New Testaments.

Next time, we’ll look at Facsimiles (reproductions of important works). I’ve got three really, really cool ones.

 

Leave a Reply

